snopes.com Post new topic  New Poll  Post a reply
search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello snopes.com » SLC Central » Rantidote » "The Real World" (Long) (Page 1)

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!   This topic comprises 2 pages: 1  2   
Author Topic: "The Real World" (Long)
qualli
We Wish You a Merry Giftmas

Icon 02 posted      Profile for qualli   E-mail qualli   Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
I hate, hate, hate the phrase "the real world"

No, you're not allowed to decide that my opinions or life experiences are worth less than yours because I'm a college student, or I have an unconventional job, or I still live with my parents.

Look, this is my life. this is my world. so shut the nfbsk up.

Having a mortage does not mean you are smarter. Having a nine to five job you hate does not make you more important than me. The "real world" does not equal "the world you live in"

Thank You.

This message brought to you by a lovely discussion I had with my mom. I told her I really wanted to build my own house. I'm compiling a notebook with lots of different little ideas and plans for future reference. I made the mistake of telling her that I'd like to buy some of the farmland from my grandmother to build on. Before the words "eventually" even leave my mouth she's all over me about "with what money?" "you don't even have a job" "when are you going to join the real world?" ...wtf?! I do have a job. Yeah it's a pagan store. Yeah it's actualy more like a second home, and I often do stay there on the weekends. My Goddess, I acutally like my bosses and coworkers, what a horrible crime! And what the hell is wrong with wanting to live unconventionaly? She of course, doesn't want me to get a place of my own (which would be silly, because then I'd have to get a second job and still keep up with college)