snopes.com Post new topic  Post a reply
search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello snopes.com » Urban Legends » Trivia » Why Nine Minutes?

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Why Nine Minutes?
Bassist
Chess Nuts Boasting 'Round an Open Fire

Icon 05 posted      Profile for Bassist   E-mail Bassist   Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
I've been using various types of alarm clocks for several decades, and have often wondered why the nine-minute interval was chosen for the time their snooze button delayed the next alarm.

I've found the nine minutes to be the same for my cell phone's alarm, for digital clock radios and non-digital clock radios. It would seem likely that, with the ubiquity of digital technology and customization, there would be several models whose snooze settings could be shortened or delayed based on user settings.

Does anyone else have knowledge of or experience with alarms with a different snooze delay? Admittedly, my personal experience may be limited [Smile]

--------------------
"I'm singing and deranged!"

Posts: 239 | From: Georgia | Registered: Dec 2004  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
The Pikey Snow Queen
The First USA Noel

Icon 1 posted      Profile for The Pikey Snow Queen   Author's Homepage     Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
Mine can be adjusted between 10 & 15 minutes

--------------------
Brosandi. Hendumst í hringi
Höldumst í hendur
Allur heimurinn óskýr
Nema þú stendur

Posts: 694 | From: York, UK | Registered: Jul 2006  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
mizzie
I'm Dreaming of a White Sale

Icon 1 posted      Profile for mizzie     Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote