snopes.com Post new topic  Post a reply
search | faq | forum home

next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello snopes.com » SLC Central » SLC: A Best Buy Christmas » Say What? Flags in Wal*Mart

- UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: Say What? Flags in Wal*Mart
Donovan
Deck the Malls

Icon 202 posted      Profile for Donovan   E-mail Donovan   Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
I'm a telephone central office tech, and right now I'm covering the office of one of my vacationing co-workers. Years ago, he bought an American flag (w/pole and wall mount) to hang out front. Lately, though, he hasn't because the flag is showing it's age. As a quasi-christmas gift, I decided that on payday, I would walk across the street to Wally World and get a new one.

So, I'm taking my lunch break browsing and I couldn't find flags. I was in lawn and garden with the rest of the outside decorations and such, but no flags. So, I asked one of the employees:

"American flags? They're in Stationary."

So, why in the world would the national flag be in Stationary?

Donovan Ravenhull

PS: Oh, just for the giggles that I know some of y'all will get into here: "It's in stationary as part of Wal*Mart's evil plan to make our flag no better than paper and force all of us God-fearing Americans to burn them..."

--------------------
Illius me paenitet, dux (Latin for fun and business)

"It's like trying to hawk pork chops at a kosher PETA banquet." - Esprise Me

Posts: 429 | From: Alabama | Registered: Sep 2005  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
Kev
We Three Blings

Icon 1 posted      Profile for Kev   E-mail Kev   Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote