posted
A co-worker fell for that ad on another computer here at work. There's nothing like NSFW ads at work. It was real annoying because it also hijacked IE so you couldn't go to Google, it would re-direct to their "security" web site. Part of the reason why I only use Firefox on my computers. Harder to hijack like that. Lucky for me it only took 10 minutes to get rid of the mal-ware.
-------------------- I've got a pen in my pocket does that make me a writer? Standing on the mountain doesn't make me no higher. Putting on gloves don't make you a fighter. And all the study in the world doesn't make it science. -Paul Weller Posts: 199 | From: Kalamazoo, MI | Registered: Oct 2005
| IP: Logged |
quote:Originally posted by curlygirl: I don't know how to do a screen cap to show what it looks like though.
Press the "prt scr" button. This copies an image of what is visible on your screen to the clipboard. Open a drawing program such as Paint and paste the image into a new drawing then save it as "annoying NFBSKing ad".
posted
I'm getting this, too, and I'm at work, so I can't do anything about the firewall.
Is there any way to block this individually (IE 6.0)?
Don Enrico
-------------------- My spelling is Wobbly. It's good spelling, but it Wobbles, and the letters get in the wrong places. - Pooh Bear Posts: 2209 | From: Hamburg, Germany | Registered: Oct 2004
| IP: Logged |
posted
I still haven't been able to track this ad down. Based on what other webmasters with the same problem have been saying, the nasty pop-up is apparently being triggered by a completely unrelated ad (e.g., an ad for a travel site). If you see this pop-up again, please make note of what ads are displaying on the page that triggered it.
posted
I just got it, and the ad at the top of the page was for a watch, which I have seen quite few times with no problems. I took some screen shots of the whole sequence. There were 4 screens which I closed down and then a fifth one that actually spawned a download - which I refused.
-------------------- Check out my handmade pens Check back often because the page changes often Posts: 831 | From: Brisbane, Australia | Registered: Jun 2005
| IP: Logged |
posted
I didn't get the pop-up again since I put "amaena.com" as a blocked site under the IE "internet options". I don't know, though, whether these two facts are really related...
-------------------- My spelling is Wobbly. It's good spelling, but it Wobbles, and the letters get in the wrong places. - Pooh Bear Posts: 2209 | From: Hamburg, Germany | Registered: Oct 2004
| IP: Logged |
-------------------- "This air we're breathing. Oxygen, isn't it?"~I’mNotDedalus, impersonating Vincent D’Onofrio.|"Sometimes trying to communicate can be like walking through a minefield."~wanderwoman "Give people a break. It's not easy doing a life."~Joshua Halberstam Posts: 4020 | From: Oklahoma | Registered: Nov 2005
| IP: Logged |
posted
It looks to me like everyone who's getting this ad is a non-U.S. resident, so it's probably something geotargeted to areas that don't include the U.S. (which explains why I'm not seeing it).
quote:Originally posted by me, no really: I just got it, and the ad at the top of the page was for a watch, which I have seen quite few times with no problems. I took some screen shots of the whole sequence. There were 4 screens which I closed down and then a fifth one that actually spawned a download - which I refused.
Snopes- I am in the USA and was having problems with this same pop-up. Only on IE, not Firefox.
-------------------- "My Very Educated Mother Just Said Uh-oh! No...Pluto..."~ Steven Colbert Posts: 3256 | From: Somewhere in Ohio | Registered: Apr 2004
| IP: Logged |