snopes.com Post new topic  Post a reply
search | faq | forum home

  next oldest topic   next newest topic
» Hello snopes.com » Archived Forums » Inboxer Rebellion Archive » George Bush-- nope, it doesn't work.

 - UBBFriend: Email this page to someone!    
Author Topic: George Bush-- nope, it doesn't work.
lancastrian
The Red and the Green Stamps


Icon 01 posted            Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
Ok, sometimes typing "miserable failure" on google gets a bio of Bush, but not always. I typed it and just got a boring page EXPLAINING the scam!
IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
Cato, the Singing-Ringing Flea -bag
The Red and the Green Stamps


Icon 01 posted            Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
1. What scam?

2. Why is this in Inboxer Rebellion? Bush hasn't gone all Nigerian on us has he?

IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
lancastrian
The Red and the Green Stamps


Icon 01 posted            Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
It's one of the most recent snopes stories. Type "miserable failure" into Google and click "I'm feeling lucky" and it links to George Bush's Bio.

Except for me it didn't. I just got a very limited text page DESCRIBING this scam and how it worked. Kind of irnoic, really.

IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
chillas
Coventry Mall Carol


Icon 01 posted      Profile for chillas     Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
Bush-a-chow

Um ... why is this in Inboxer Rebellion? Perhaps if there is some sort of "scam" you would clue us in?

--------------------
Come on, come on - spin a little tighter
Come on, come on - and the world's a little brighter


Posts: 5595 | From: Columbus, OH : The Soccer Capital of America | Registered: Sep 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
Ghost on Toast
We Wish You a Merry Giftmas


Icon 207 posted      Profile for Ghost on Toast     Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
I did it through google.co.uk, told it to search all the web (not justUK) and clicked "I'm feeling lucky" and indeed did get Bush's bio.

Maybe it's a Google co.uk/com thingy

Posts: 884 | From: UK | Registered: Jul 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
JOJO
I'll Be Home for After Christmas Sales


Icon 01 posted      Profile for JOJO     Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
It works for google.ca as well.

JOJO

Posts: 129 | From: uOttawa, Ontario, Canada | Registered: Jan 2002  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
Christie
The Bills of St. Mary's


Icon 01 posted      Profile for Christie     Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
Just tried it on google.com and it worked for me too, official White House biog no less. Interesting.

--------------------
If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs, it's just possible you haven't grasped the situation. - Jean Kerr

Posts: 18428 | From: Ontario, Canada | Registered: Nov 2001  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
dramaqueen872005
Jingle Bell Hock


Icon 01 posted      Profile for dramaqueen872005   E-mail dramaqueen872005   Send new private message       Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
I tried it on all of the google sites mentioned and they all work. Miserable Failure turns up a bio of Bush.

DramaQueen

--------------------
"I'm Jimmy Joe Dean," he said, "Sort of like James Dean, but with a Texas twist"
"Yeah," Brent muttered. "The original Rebel Without a Brain."
~Drive me Wild, Julie Ortolon

Posts: 444 | From: Round Rock/San Angelo, TX | Registered: Aug 2003  |  IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
lancastrian
The Red and the Green Stamps


Icon 01 posted            Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
yeah- it worked for me too today!


As for the question- why is it a scam?

Well, the idea is that people work together scam google into linking a phrase to an inappropriate web page. As explained by snopes google don't care.

The same scam can be used to link other phrases to sites- and this can be done for profit.

So- its a search-engine scam, kinda an inbox scam.

IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
bballad
The Red and the Green Stamps


Icon 01 posted            Edit/Delete post   Reply with quote 
What you are seeign is a google washing war among to seperate groups of webloggers, one is anti bush and one is probush. Depending on who has more links at the moment will determain where google takes you.
IP: Logged | Report this post to a moderator
   

Quick Reply
Message:

HTML is not enabled.
UBB Code™ is enabled.

Instant Graemlins
   


Post new topic  Post a reply Close topic   Feature Topic   Move Topic   Delete topic next oldest topic   next newest topic
 - Printer-friendly view of this topic
Hop To:


Urban Legends Reference Pages

Powered by Infopop Corporation
UBB.classic™ 6.7.2